Conversation with a Night Watchman

nightwatchmanI had some time to spare between taking a class at the Iyengar Yoga Centre and meeting up with Eric for dinner so IΒ bought some nail polish at Sasa, sat in the middle of a plaza, and painted my nails. While I waited for them to dry, I had a lovely conversation with this sixty-four year old man who works as a night watchman in Sheung Wan. He spoke practically flawless English. He said that he thought at first that I might be Russian but when I said I was from America he was very happy and told me he looooves Lady Liberty, “given to America by the French” he added. He thinks Americans are great people, and that regardless of how things are right now and that America is still a great place. He told me about his one trip to Thailand where he saw the most magnificent show starring transvestites and how it made him so happy to see the bright colours and lights. We talked for about fifteen minutes in the middle of the square and then he had to go to work.

Leave a Reply

